





ATS Young Members Committee

TERMS OF REFERENCE

Authority and Establishment	
Establishment:	The ATS Young Members Committee is established by the Australian Tunnelling Society Executive Committee in exercise of its powers conferred under Clause 19 of the ATS Constitution.
Purpose of the committee:	The aim of the ATS Young Members Committee is to be the technical network for young professionals under the age of 35 and students in the tunnelling industry. The Committees core focus is to foster a community of young professionals and students in the tunnelling industry providing them a voice and platform to facilitate the sharing of knowledge and innovative tunnelling practices, and promote opportunities in the Australian tunnelling industry.
Key objectives:	1. Knowledge Sharing - To create a platform for students and young engineers to share knowledge and experiences in the tunnelling field.
	2. Community Building - To build a community of students and young tunnellers in Australia for information and knowledge exchange.
	3. Promoting Innovation - To advance the tunnelling industry in Australia by encouraging innovative practices.
	4. Tertiary Engagement - To collaborate with universities, and educational institutions to promote the opportunities and growth within the tunnelling sector.
	5. Showcasing Achievements - To highlight and celebrate the achievements of young tunnellers in Australia.
Governance	
Who the Committee reports to:	The Committee reports to the Australian Tunnelling Society Executive Committee.
	The chair of the Young Members Committee shall be a voting member of the ATS Executive Committee.
	The Committee is required to:
	 Operate and conduct its affairs within: The Royal Charter and By Laws; The General Regulations; ATS Constitution These Terms of Reference; and Engineers Australia's Policies, Procedures, and relevant Management Instructions.
	Promote best practice governance and management for its operations.

Structure of the Committee:	Membership of the Committee shall be drawn from the membership of the Australian Tunnelling Society.
	The ATS Young Members Committee is to comprise a minimum of six (6) active elected or appointed members. The Committee may determine its own effective size within the minimum number of members.
	All Committee positions, whether elected or appointed, are to be made taking account of diversity, skills, leadership and technical proficiency.
Term of Office:	The term of office of Committee members shall be two (2) years beginning on 1 January the year following their election or appointment. Members of the Committee may serve additional terms to ensure continuity of the work of the Committee.
	Standard tenure is two (2) years for an elected member of the Committee, however the Committee may appoint a member for one (1) year and the term of appointment must be specified in the resolution of appointment.
	The maximum number of terms a member can serve is three (3) excluding time spent as Chair or Deputy Chair.
Nominations, appointments and casual vacancies:	Members of the Committee are to be called for and selected in an open manner that may include an expression of interest process.
custur vucuncies.	Eligible members are financial members of the Australian Tunnelling Society
	Casual vacancies may be filled by an eligible member for the remainder of the vacated term.
Mean of electing the Chair and Deputy Chair	Chair : Following a call for nominations from amongst the sitting members of the Committee, the Committee must elect one (1) member of the Committee to be Chair to hold office for a two (2) -year term commencing 1 January the year after they are elected. The Chair of the Committee may be reappointed for a further term of either one (1) or two (2) years but may only hold that office for a maximum tenure of four (4) years from the date of their initial election.
	The Australian Tunnelling Society Executive Committee may, by unanimous resolution:
	Appoint the Chair of the Committee; andRemove the Committee Chair.
	Deputy Chair : Following a Call for Nominations, the Deputy Chair will be elected by the sitting Committee members for a two (2) year term commencing 1 January the year after they are elected. The Deputy Chair of the Committee may be reappointed for a further term of either one (1) or two (2) years but may only hold that office for a maximum tenure of four (4) years from the date of their initial election. The Deputy Chair does not automatically transition to the position of Chair of the Committee.
Meeting arrangements:	The Committee shall meet at least four (4) times per annum. Additional meetings may be held if required. A quorum of members for decision making purposes at meetings is one half of Committee members plus one (1).
	The Committee shall:
	 Produce an action list after each meeting and make these available, on request, to the ATS Executive Committee; and Provide regular underest to the ATS Executive Committee
	 Provide regular updates to the ATS Executive Committee